Halal Certification

HALAL CERTIFICATION

HALAL Certification in Patna Bihar-HALAL Certification in Ranchi Jharkhand

Looking for HALAL Certification in Patna Bihar-HALAL Certification in Ranchi Jharkhand? Call us now at +91-85400-99000, +91-85400-78000, +91-85400-85000

Halal Certification is recognition that the products are permissible under Islamic law. These products are thus edible, drinkable or usable by Muslims. Halal Certification helps to build Halal consumer’s confidence without suspicion or doubt over the consumption of the food products in restaurants, Hotels or in the form of medicines and vitamins. It is an authoritative and reliable testimony to support food manufacturers’ claim that their products have met strict Halal requirement by the Shariah Law.

The certified Halal food products are not only accepted domestically but are marketable to worldwide Halal consumers. This opens an opportunity for export markets specially in those countries which do not permit sale of non-Halal food products. Moreover Halal products are not only welcomed by Muslim consumers but by non-Muslim consumers as well as Halal certificate represents high level of hygiene, cleanliness, safety, nutrition and is produced stringently under the requirements of the Islamic Dietary Law.

It is estimated that 70% of 1.6 billion Muslims worldwide follow Halal food standards, and that the global Halal market is currently estimated USD $600 billion. Today, Halal trademark is an important marketing tool in the international arena particularly if the product is aimed at penetrating Muslim countries. Muslim consumers will have greater confidence in purchasing such products without questioning its authenticity. Producers who do not have the Halal Certification would lose a large segment of potential customers from around the world. In addition, the Halal Certification is also required by an importer to the country.

Products Which Require Halal Certification

What is Halal?

The following products are definitely Halal:

  1. Milk (from cows, sheep, camels, and goats)
    2. Honey
    3. Fish
    4. Plants which are not intoxicant
    5. Fresh or naturally frozen vegetables
    6. Fresh or dried fruits
    7. Legumes and nuts like peanuts, cashew nuts, hazel nuts, walnuts, etc.
    8. Grains such as wheat, rice, rye, barley, oat, etc.

Animals such as cows, sheep, goats, deer, moose, chickens, ducks, game birds, etc., are also Halal, but they must be Zabihah (slaughtered according to Islamic Rites) in order to be suitable for consumption. The procedure is as follows: the animal must be slaughtered by a Muslim. The animal should be put down on the ground (or held it if it is small) and its throat should be slit with a very sharp knife to make sure that the 3 main blood vessels are cut. While cutting the throat of the animal (without severing it), the person must pronounce the name of Allah or recite a blessing which contains the name of Allah, such as “Bismillah Allah-u-Akbar”.

What is Haraam?

  1. Meat from swine – pork, ham, gammon, bacon, etc
  2. Pork-based products and by-products – sausages, gelatine etc
  3. Animals improperly slaughtered, or already dead before slaughtering is due to take place
  4. Animals killed in the name of anyone other than Allah.
  5. Intoxicants
  6. Most carnivorous animals, birds of prey and land animals without external ears (i.e., snakes, reptiles, worms, insects etc.)
  7. Blood and blood by-products
  8. Foods contaminated with any of the above products

While many things are clearly halal or clearly haraam, there are some things which are not clear. These items are considered questionable or suspect and more information is needed to categorise them as halal or haraam. Such items are often referred to as Mashbooh, which means doubtful or questionable. Food falling into this category should be treated as haraam until you know otherwise.

  1. {foods which are forbidden}: The Holy Qur’an, 5:3 – Forbidden to you (for food) are: dead meat, blood, the flesh of swine, and that on which hath been invoked the name of other than Allah; that which hath been killed by strangling, or by a violent blow, or by a headlong fall, or by being gored to death; that which hath been (partly) eaten by a wild animal; unless ye are able to slaughter it (in due form); that which is sacrificed on stone (altars)…
  2. {prohibition of intoxicants): The Holy Qur’an, 5:90 – O ye who believe! Intoxicants and gambling, (dedication of) stones, and (divination by) arrows, are an abomination,- of Satan’s handwork: eschew such (abomination), that ye may prosper.
  3. (permissibility of seafood): The Holy Qur’an, 35:12 – Nor are the two bodies of flowing water alike,- the one palatable, sweet, and pleasant to drink, and the other, salt and bitter. Yet from each (kind of water) do ye eat flesh fresh and tender, and ye extract ornaments to wear; and thou seest the ships therein that plough the waves, that ye may seek (thus) of the Bounty of Allah that ye may be grateful.

PRODUCTS:

Intoxicants:

It should be noted that the Qur’an specifies all intoxicants (not just alcohol) as being haraam. An intoxicant is, by definition, a substance eaten, drunk or smoked with the sole intention of becoming intoxicated, or a substance created with that purpose in mind. This basically means alcoholic drinks and narcotic drugs.

Any food which was made with an alcoholic drink (usually wine) is haraam because, although the food itself probably couldn’t get you drunk, it’s alcoholic ingredient was made for that purpose. In most cases this is obvious – for instance Coq au Vin (chicken in wine) or Beef and Ale Pie. In contrast, some seemingly innocent foods can be made using alcoholic drinks and are therefore haraam – examples are mince pies and teriyaki sauce. Always check the ingredients label!

In contrast, alcohol can be found in some halal foods, such as bread and soy sauce. These sometimes contain minute amounts of alcohol as a result of a natural reaction between certain chemicals during the manufacturing process (as opposed to alcoholic drinks being deliberately added to food to add flavour), and so couldn’t be classed as haraam.

Some medicines and mouthwashes contain alcohol – if you can find an non-alcoholic alternative then use that instead. Medicines containing alcohol would be considered halal if there were no suitable alternatives available. It should be noted that only ethyl alcohol (such as methylated spirits and ethanol, the alcohol found in alcoholic drinks) are intoxicating and are therefore haraam. Other forms of alcohol (such as stearyl) are not intoxicating. These types of alcohol won’t be found in any food or drink due to the fact that they are generally poisonous, but it is a point worth bearing in mind when buying household goods containing these.

Pork By-Products:

This includes ingredients such as gelatine, emulsifiers, fat and enzymes. All of these are haraam. They also have alternatives that are either halal or vegetarian that can just as easily be used in their place. Items that can contain these pork-based ingredients include:

  • Jelly / Jell-O desserts
  • Marshmallows
  • Jelly / Gum sweets
  • Lard

A note for Muslims in Britain – some fish and chip shops cook their food in lard (pork fat) in the traditional way, especially Harry Ramsden’s. As far as I know, most chip shops use vegetable oil, probably because it’s cheaper. If you enjoy a good fish and chip dinner like me, you may as well cook it yourself.

Some medicines and supplements (especially Cod Liver Oil) also use gelatine as part of their capsules. It can be permissible to use these, but ONLY if there are no suitable alternatives.

Seafood:

The Qur’an states that everything from the sea is halal, including carnivores such as sharks. You’ll see that the list I wrote above says MOST carnivorous animals are haraam. Marine predators seem to be the exception to this rule.

I have also seen some sources stating that prawns, crabs and other crustaceans are haraam based on other verses of the Qur’an which mentions that seawater is bitter. This is not true as the above verse states that all food from the sea is halal.

Cheese:

Some cheeses, including popular types such as Cheddar, are made with an ingredient called ‘rennet’. Traditionally, this is obtained from the cow’s stomach which, if the cow was not slaughtered according the Islamic rites, would render it haraam. Many cheeses nowadays are made using vegetable rennet, so always choose these if possible.

 

When it comes to Halal food, most people think of meat products only. However, Muslims must ensure that all foods, particularly processed foods, pharmaceuticals and non-food items like cosmetics are also Halal. Often these products contain animal by-products or other ingredients that are not permissible for Muslim consumption.

Most food producers, especially those from non-Muslim countries, assumed that vegetable-based products are safe for Muslim consumption. Thus Halal certification is not required by established Islamic Council. But the Halal Certification System is not only with regards to the raw material used. It encompasses the whole production process which includes processing, packaging, labelling, storage and transportation.

Generally all plants are Halal as long as it is not poisonous and not intended to be made into Haram food. However, a processed vegetable-based food is not naturally Halal if any of the production cycle is tainted with unclean elements (filthy or Najis) as in accordance with the Shariah Law. For instance, fats and oils or shortening is used during the process to enhance the taste of vegetable based food. Some of these enhancers may have been derived from a non-Halal animal. In addition some vegetable fats is processed in the same machinery which has been used to process non-Halal animal fats. Further, some packaging may contain animal grease such as pork fats. If these packaging materials have been in contact with the Halal vegetable-based products in anyway, it will render those products Haram and unfit for Muslim consumption.

The production premises and facilities used must only be for the purposes of Halal foods production. The same premise and facilities are not to be used for both Halal and non-Halal food production. This is notwithstanding that those premises and facilities have been cleaned thoroughly as in accordance to the Syariah Law. This stringent measure is taken to prevent Halal foods from being contaminated with Haram elements or any other elements that are considered filthy (Najis) by the Syariah Law.

Halal certification is not only limited to food produce. Other products such as non-alcohol beverage, raw materials needed in food processing, pharmaceutical and health care products, traditional herbal products, cosmetics and personal care products, cleaning products, daily consumable products and leather-made products (e.g. shoes, furniture and hand-bag) are examples of things that have to be Halal for Muslim consumption/usage.

In addition to that, places like restaurants, hotels, slaughtering houses; packaging and labeling materials are also required to have Halal certification to ensure they are suitable to be visited / used by Muslim consumers.

Thus a Halal certificate by a competent authority assures the consumer that the certified product:

  • Neither is nor consist of or contains any part or matter of an animal that a Muslim is prohibited by Shariah to consume or that has not been slaughtered in accordance with shariah
  • Does not contain anything which is considered to be impure according to shariah.
  • Has not been prepared, processed or manufactured using instrument that was not free from anything impure according to shariah; and
  • Has not in the course of preparation, processing or storage been in contact with or close proximity to any food that fails to satisfy paragraph (a) (b) or (c) or anything that is considered to be impure according to Hukum shariah.

HALALCERTIFICATION INDIA-HALAL CERTIFICATION DELHI-HALAL CERTIFICATION UK

We have a duly qualified and well experienced team of professionals, ISO auditors, assessors, that makes us capable to carry out implementation of wide range of standard certification audit programs. Our auditors not only help you in identification of your weakness or areas of improvement but also follow up and help you in getting over all shortcomings till you do not get certification certificate in your hand.

Details of some of Products and Service Quality Certification given by us:

  1. ISO Certification
  2. CE Mark Certification
  3. ROHS Certification
  4. Kosher Certification
  5. Halal Certification
  6. HACCP Certification
  7. OHSAS Certification
  8. ISI Certification
  9. FSSAI Certification
  10. NABL Certification
  11. NABH Certification
  12. Hallmark Certification
  13. BIFMA Certification
  14. ICAT Certification
  15. GOST R Certification etc. (For more details, please check out our services)

TO get quote for certification of your business, firm or company, please fill up the form given in this page or call us on contact numbers given on this page.